Coursework idea (1)

Initially, I wanted the theme of my coursework to be happiness, but I realise that this theme is too broad and I need a more specific topic to work on. So I came up with the theme ‘A girl’s dream world’. I’m sure everyone has a dream world filled with your happiness, dreams, stuff that you like or in other words, an ideal world that you enjoy or love. And I want to do something close to my heart: A GIRL’S dream world. Something that involves my own opinions and experiences too. Hmm. Now that I think of this, maybe I should change it to ‘MY dream world’ which is more specific, instead of making a sweeping statement generalising that ALL the activities in my coursework are things that ALL girls like or enjoy. Afterall, everyone has preferences, just like my uncanny love for doll houses and miniature objects at this age. Yet again, if this turns out too subjective, nobody might understanding my work. the theme would be more prominent if I gathered things that girls generally like.

Now that I’m more or less settled with a theme, I’m thinking of composition. My great source of inspiration is Maurits Cornelis Escher’s (M.C. Escher) work: Relativity.

Relativity by Maurits Cornelis Escher (M.C. Escher)

Relativity by Maurits Cornelis Escher (M.C. Escher)

The irrational idea that gravity exists in all directions within one house is intriguing, just like how unreal yet interesting a dream may seem. What I have in mind now is many girls on different directions of gravity doing the things I enjoy or holding the things I like.

Escher is a graphic artist. During his lifetime, made 448 lithographs, woodcuts and wood engravings and over 2000 drawings and sketches. He is most famous for his ‘so-called’ impossible structures, such as Ascending and Descending.

Ascending and Descending by M.C Escher

Ascending and Descending by M.C Escher

As I was searching around on the internet for mediums to express my theme, I stumbled upon this: Andrew Lipson’s LEGO® Page at http://www.andrewlipson.com/lego.htm. This guy managed to complete the relativity structure in using lego:

Relativity lego structure

This is the complete structure he has made. The website also shows the building processes, methodology etc. Not only that, he has also succeeded in building many other structures of famous paintings (not limited to M.C. Escher) and statues using lego. It’s worth a look!

Other than that, I also found a 3-D software figure online here:

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=21b4c1477012a2875d8dee96b5a7691

In this website, the painting recreated in the form of 3-D structures using a special software, allowing you to examine the figure from different angles.

The last method I found, is photography, an idea I gained from United World’s College art exhibition.

series of photosindividual photos

What I like about these series of photographs is the way each individual photo is being pieced together into one. It gives the dreamy effect just like how a dream comes in bits and pieces that might not match exactly.

Yep, and that’s all for this post.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mrstan on April 13, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Either one of your focus is fine (be it a general ‘girl’s dream world’ or your own…). But you must be specific and state whether it is a teenage girl’s or a little girl’s… I like the idea of doll house and it’s miniature contents… :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by liqiairgirl on September 28, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Dream world!
    like mrs tan, i like your idea of doll house and how different “people” moves inside the house…Hmm…reminds me of Harry Potter’s Hogwarts, the moving stairs.

    Reply

Leave a comment