Surrealism painting

After being exposed to works of famous artists about surrealism, such as Salvador Dali, Rene Magritte, Yves Tanguy, Joan Miro etc. we are tasked to create our own works on surrealism. To start off with it, we went around the school taking pictures for our work and photoshoped them into a the final draft of what we wanted to paint. After we’re done, we could paint our final by refering to the draft.

Title: Surrealism

Medium: Oil

Size: A3

Reflections: In this piece, I was trying to portray a scenario where different sizes of the same person (none other than my model Ying Yun :D) is contained in one picture.

I really enjoyed using this medium amongst all the mediums I have tried. Unlike other mediums, the oil does not dry up easily and changes can still be made to the painting after one week. This allowed me to paint the shadows and colour transitions (for example, from light brown to dark brown) with ease, when I wanted the transition to be very gradual.

However I think that my work lacked details owing to the large brush I was using. As a result, I could not add small details such as the facial expressions of miniature Ying Yuns. I could have done better with a smaller brush.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chanceofhope on September 29, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Hi! I think it is a really good attempt in drawing people! The different poses of Ying Yun are very interesting. However, I feel that the wall behind the ‘Big Ying Yun’ is a little too plain, you could have probably added something in, like a framed painting with Ying Yun in it? (: Taking another look at it, the building outside the window can look like a painting hung up on the wall, a concept similar to one famous artist (I forgot his/her name).

    Reply

  2. Posted by bluepooh915 on September 29, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    lol i feel funny about people commenting about me. haha. anw, good job in depicting surrealism. its much better than mine! i like your concept of putting giants and “dwarfs” it make it seem like a fairytale but it not really in proportion of dwarfs and giants. I think may be you can add somemore colour variations in your painting. good job in any case!

    Reply

  3. Posted by liviayap on September 30, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Hello! I also think that you did a good job in drawing and painting Ying Yun. The composition of the painting is very interesting too. However I also think that the wall behind is too white, so it takes away the ‘completeness’ of the entire painting. In addition, the colour of Ying Yun’s uniform is almost the same as her skin colour, which is a little odd. But overall it is a good piece of work :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

